LibGuides: Department of Medicine: Web Resources

Key resources

NICE Evidence search Evidence search providing access to selected and authoritative evidence in health, social care and public health.
Cochrane Library Search for evidence, protocols, trials and systematic reviews to inform healthcare decision making.
TRIP Database Clinical database to support and inform evidence based healthcare decision making and patient care.
Medline (PubMed) PubMed is free to access and provides an alternative to searching Medline through Ovid (the database is the same, although search functionality is different).
Epistemonikos
The New England Journal of Medicine: Research & Review The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) is a weekly general medical journal that publishes new medical research and review articles, and editorial.
The Latest Medical Research, Reviews, and Guidelines - JAMA The Journal of the American Medical Association is a peer-reviewed medical journal published 48 times a year by the American Medical Association.

Hardin MD: Medical Informatics and Computers From the University of Iowa, the best lists of Internet sources in medical and nursing informatics, software and computers.
Health Informatics Worldwide This website provides a comprehensive index of links to medical and nursing informatics.
Healthcare Informatics A monthly magazine for informatics managers.
HIMSS (Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society) This recently updated site provides current Healthcare IT news, research, topics, tools, and professional development opportunities for the Healthcare professional.
Journal of the American Medical Informatics Association Presents high-quality, cutting-edge information to assist physicians, informaticians, scientists, nurses, and other health care professionals.
Medical Informatics Engineering This website provides product information on Electronic Medical Record (EMR) Systems.
Pharmacy Informatics Homepage Provides technology, news and information in pharmacy as well as a meeting place for professionals of information technology.

IMGT, the international ImMunoGeneTics database integrated database specialising in Immunoglobulins (Ig), T cell receptors (TcR) and Major Histocompatibility Complex (MHC) molecules of all vertebrate species. At present, IMGT includes two databases: IMGT/LIGM-DB, a comprehensive database of Ig and TcR from human and other vertebrates, with translation for fully annotated sequences, and IMGT/HLA-DB, a database of the human MHC referred to as HLA (Human Leucocyte Antigens). The IMGT server provides a common access to all Immunogenetics data.
Kabat Database Sequences of Proteins of Immunological Interest.
Immune Deficiency Foundation | The IDF Primary Immunodeficiency Conference is a platform for all facets of the PI community. From physicians to nurses to specialized life management experts.
World Allergy Organization The World Allergy Organization (WAO) is an international umbrella organization whose members consist of 104 regional and national allergology and clinical immunology societies from around the world.

Easy Auscultation Lung Sounds
Tutorials for learning different lung sounds
Merck Manuals Audio Files
Recordings of Cardiovascular Disorders, Pulmonary Disorders and others.
Pulmonary Breath Sounds
Breath sounds guide from East Tennessee State University.

Endocrine Pathology Index
View images of pathological findings for organs in the endocrine system for a variety of diseases.
Endocrinology Cases
A blog for cases put together by Dr. Om J Lakhani, an endocrinologist and professor.
Hormone Health Network
A learning tool for hormones from The Endocrine Society that contains information on health and disease as it relates to hormones.
MedlinePlus Diabetes
Information about diabetes from NIH.
Online MedEd Endocrine
Register for free to access unlimited videos in the digital library and student study resources.